Bug 458477

Summary: clone(pull) fails when i clone empty repository via SSH
Product: [Technology] JGit Reporter: hyeok oh <oh4851>
Component: JGitAssignee: Project Inbox <jgit.core-inbox>
Status: NEW --- QA Contact:
Severity: major    
Priority: P3 CC: harut70, matthias.sohn, netbeen.cn, oh4851
Version: 3.5.3Keywords: helpwanted
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows 7   
Whiteboard:

Description hyeok oh CLA 2015-01-26 20:17:04 EST
if i clone empty repository with file or http protocol ->
warning: You appear to have cloned an empty repository.
or
warning: remote HEAD refers to nonexistent ref, unable to checkout.

but, I got working directory with virtual master branch.

--------------Problem---------------------------------------------
if i clone empty repository with ssh protocol ->
fatal: could not fetch refs from username@domain:owner/projectname.git

I got this fatal message and fail to clone.
I didn't have no repository in my working directory.

So, I want to same work with ssh protocol.

This bug is able to fix as soon as possible
or
Critical bug -> I need long term wait?

*************LOG**************************************************
Naver@AD00030229 ~/testPlace
$ ls

### http protocol use ###
Naver@AD00030229 ~/testPlace
$ git clone http://oh4851@star.yobi.navercorp.com/oh4851/aaaaaaadd
Cloning into 'aaaaaaadd'...
Password for 'http://oh4851@star.yobi.navercorp.com':
Checking connectivity... done.
warning: remote HEAD refers to nonexistent ref, unable to checkout.

### file protocol use ###
Naver@AD00030229 ~/testPlace
$ git clone filePro/ fileProCase
Cloning into 'fileProCase'...
warning: You appear to have cloned an empty repository.
done.

### ssh protocol use ###
Naver@AD00030229 ~/testPlace
$ git clone 1111@localhost:1111/P1
Cloning into 'P1'...
fatal: could not fetch refs from 1111@localhost:1111/P1

### result                                                 ###
### http, file -> got empty repository in my working dir   ###
### ssh -> i didn't get empty repository im my working dir ###
Naver@AD00030229 ~/testPlace
$ ls
aaaaaaadd  filePro  fileProCase
Comment 1 Matthias Sohn CLA 2015-01-27 02:47:43 EST
did you try this with the native implementation of git or did you use jgit here ?
Comment 2 hyeok oh CLA 2015-01-27 03:20:52 EST
i try to use jgit (git repository) & mina-sshd (sshdaemon) in my serverside.
and use git client (msysgit).