Bug 41763

Summary: Ajbrowser can't build
Product: [Tools] AspectJ Reporter: Ron Bodkin <rbodkin+LISTS>
Component: IDEAssignee: Mik Kersten <mik.kersten>
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME QA Contact:
Severity: normal    
Priority: P1 CC: adrian.colyer
Version: 1.1.1   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Whiteboard:
Attachments:
Description Flags
Simple class to reproduce the problem
none
Build configuration file to use with simple class none

Description Ron Bodkin CLA 2003-08-20 20:30:31 EDT
I am using J2SDK 1.4.1_03. When I tried loading a sample .lst file and 
building it in the 1.1.1rc1 ajbrowser, it errors:

C:\eclipse\workspace\ajdt.figures.demo.begin\figures\Box.java:1-1:0: This 
compilation unit indirectly references the missing type java.lang.Object 
(typically some required class file is referencing a type outside the 
classpath)
Comment 1 A Butler CLA 2004-01-25 12:29:43 EST
Created attachment 7560 [details]
Simple class to reproduce the problem
Comment 2 A Butler CLA 2004-01-25 12:30:59 EST
Created attachment 7561 [details]
Build configuration file to use with simple class
Comment 3 A Butler CLA 2004-01-25 12:37:03 EST
I am also experiencing this problem, and have attached a simple example that compiles using 
ajc, but not with ajbrowser. Here is the method I have been using: 
 
1. Launch ajbrowser by typing "ajbrowser". 
2. Click on the "select build configuration" button, and load simple.lst. 
3. Click the build button to build. 
 
I am running AspectJ 1.1.1 on Red Hat 9. 
Comment 4 A Butler CLA 2004-01-25 13:26:40 EST
WORKAROUND: In ajbrowser, under Tools -> Options, set "other compiler options" to 
"-verbose". For some reason, this made the problem go away. 
Comment 5 Mik Kersten CLA 2004-02-18 01:28:41 EST
This error message is a result of the compiler not being able to find 
java.lang.Object which it is expecting from JDK's rt.jar file.  The AspectJ 
Browser gets the path to the rt.jar file from the sun.boot.class.path system 
property.  So regarding the original report, this may have become incorrect 
when you moved JDK.

You can always set the AJBrowser's classpath explicitly by going to 
the "Options" dialog and setting the entry in the "AJBrowser Options" tab.  
Note that if you leave this empty the browser will pick up whatever classpath 
it was launched with.  With this empty the classpath resolution should be 
idnetical to what ajc uses.

Regarding Comment #4, setting the "-verbose" could would have caused the same 
behavior as removing the classpath--i.e. the system classpath was picked up.

So as far as I can tell this is not a bug.  But please reopen this report if 
you come across AJBrowser resolving the classpath differently than ajc, and 
you have not explicitly set its classpath to be different.