Bug 403315

Summary: Correction in defining Platform based property variables
Product: [Eclipse Project] Platform Reporter: Kiran <kiranbabu.neela>
Component: DocAssignee: Platform-Doc-Inbox <platform-doc-inbox>
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME QA Contact:
Severity: normal    
Priority: P3 CC: daniel_megert, kiranbabu.neela
Version: 3.7.1Keywords: Documentation, test
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Whiteboard:

Description Kiran CLA 2013-03-14 06:48:55 EDT
In the following doc page, the Platform based property variable is defined as 

Doc Page: Platform Plug-in Developer Guide > Programmer's Guide > User assistance support > Dynamic content -> Filters

<with variable="platform">
     <test property="org.eclipse.core.runtime.isBundleInstalled" args="x.y.z"/>
</with>

This did not work for me, i guess the "platform" variable must be fully qualified like "org.eclipse.core.runtime.Platform". With this correction the variable definition should read as

<with variable="org.eclipse.core.runtime.Platform">
     <test property="org.eclipse.core.runtime.isBundleInstalled" args="x.y.z"/>
</with>

I took a day to figure this out, if this is indeed a doc defect, it is worth fixing it to save developer's time. Thanks.
Comment 1 Dani Megert CLA 2013-03-14 10:21:48 EDT
The doc is correct. I also verified it by replacing the existing enablement expression in /org.eclipse.jdt.doc.isv/toc.xml

with:

	<enablement>
      <with variable="platform">
          <test property="org.eclipse.core.runtime.isBundleInstalled" args="org.eclipse.jdt.ui"/>
      </with>		
	</enablement>

and it works as expected ('JDT Plug-in Developer Guide' is shown). Then I changed the  ID to some non-existent bundle and the guide no longer appeared.

If you still see the problem using http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops4/I20130313-2000/ or later, then please reopen this bug with self-contained example that demonstrates the bug.


NOTE: For the "workbench" variable and properties you actually need to run a workbench and 'org.eclipse.help.ui' must be part of your install.