Bug 368027

Summary: NPE while running builder 'Java Builder'
Product: [Eclipse Project] JDT Reporter: Deepak Azad <deepakazad>
Component: CoreAssignee: Ayushman Jain <amj87.iitr>
Status: VERIFIED INVALID QA Contact:
Severity: normal    
Priority: P3 CC: amj87.iitr, satyam.kandula, srikanth_sankaran, stephan.herrmann
Version: 3.8   
Target Milestone: 3.8 M5   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows 7   
Whiteboard:

Description Deepak Azad CLA 2012-01-06 08:20:38 EST
I got a number of NPEs while compiling the Eclipse SDK source 3.8 M4 using JDT Core from master plus patch v0.6 from bug 358903. Ironically the NPEs occur in UnconditionalFlowInfo.markAsDefinitelyNull(...)

java.lang.NullPointerException
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.flow.UnconditionalFlowInfo.markAsDefinitelyNull(UnconditionalFlowInfo.java:1307)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.FakedTrackingVariable.handleResourceAssignment(FakedTrackingVariable.java:182)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.Assignment.analyseCode(Assignment.java:63)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.Block.analyseCode(Block.java:37)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.TryStatement.analyseCode(TryStatement.java:297)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.MethodDeclaration.analyseCode(MethodDeclaration.java:108)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.TypeDeclaration.internalAnalyseCode(TypeDeclaration.java:710)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.TypeDeclaration.analyseCode(TypeDeclaration.java:255)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ast.CompilationUnitDeclaration.analyseCode(CompilationUnitDeclaration.java:111)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.Compiler.process(Compiler.java:776)
	at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.compiler.ProcessTaskManager.run(ProcessTaskManager.java:137)
	at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:736)
Comment 1 Ayushman Jain CLA 2012-01-06 08:41:42 EST
This is because of a problem in the patch in bug 358903. Should be fixed there. Closing this one.
Comment 2 Srikanth Sankaran CLA 2012-01-08 21:57:35 EST
(In reply to comment #1)
> This is because of a problem in the patch in bug 358903. Should be fixed there.
> Closing this one.

Stephan, Is this patch superceded by another that doesn't exhibit this
problem ?
Comment 3 Srikanth Sankaran CLA 2012-01-08 22:35:14 EST
(In reply to comment #2)
> (In reply to comment #1)
> > This is because of a problem in the patch in bug 358903. Should be fixed there.
> > Closing this one.
> 
> Stephan, Is this patch superceded by another that doesn't exhibit this
> problem ?

After putting up that question, I noticed that this is being discussed
in bug 358903. Will catch up on the discussion there.
Comment 4 Satyam Kandula CLA 2012-01-24 00:16:35 EST
Verified for 3.8M5 using build I20120122-2000