Bug 289946

Summary: [implementation] Status line error message timeout should implemented in EditorStatusLine
Product: [Eclipse Project] Platform Reporter: Markus Keller <markus.kell.r>
Component: TextAssignee: Platform-Text-Inbox <platform-text-inbox>
Status: ASSIGNED --- QA Contact:
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: P5 CC: daniel_megert
Version: 3.6   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Whiteboard:

Description Markus Keller CLA 2009-09-20 05:42:38 EDT
I20090917-0100

The special code in JavaEditor that improves status message handling (ensure a minimal display time for an error message) should be moved to EditorStatusLine. 

This would let all editors get the good behavior for free and also support it for clients of JavaEditor that use 'editor.getAdapter(IEditorStatusLine.class).setMessage(..)' (e.g. RenameJavaElementAction#doRun(), where the message currently does not persist when Alt+Shift+R is pressed while an unresolved variable name is selected).
Comment 1 Dani Megert CLA 2009-09-21 03:24:29 EDT
We have to be careful. Not all editors might desire such a behavior (change).

>RenameJavaElementAction#doRun(), where the message currently does not persist
>when Alt+Shift+R is pressed while an unresolved variable name is selected)
I could not find a setMessage there.

For now we could make JavaEditor.setStatusLineErrorMessage(String) and org.eclipse.jdt.internal.ui.javaeditor.JavaEditor.setStatusLineErrorMessage(String) and setStatusLineMessage(String) public, so that we can use it in JDT.
Comment 2 Dani Megert CLA 2009-09-21 06:12:50 EDT
>>RenameJavaElementAction#doRun(), where the message currently does not persist
>>when Alt+Shift+R is pressed while an unresolved variable name is selected)
>I could not find a setMessage there.
See it now after updating from HEAD.
Comment 3 Markus Keller CLA 2009-09-24 12:39:58 EDT
> We have to be careful. Not all editors might desire such a behavior (change).

Could also add IEditorStatusLineExtension with
setStickyErrorMessage(String message, Image image).


> For now we could make JavaEditor.setStatusLineErrorMessage(String) public

Done that in HEAD.
Comment 4 Eclipse Webmaster CLA 2019-09-06 15:35:13 EDT
This bug hasn't had any activity in quite some time. Maybe the problem got resolved, was a duplicate of something else, or became less pressing for some reason - or maybe it's still relevant but just hasn't been looked at yet.

If you have further information on the current state of the bug, please add it. The information can be, for example, that the problem still occurs, that you still want the feature, that more information is needed, or that the bug is (for whatever reason) no longer relevant.