Bug 23298

Summary: Configure eclipse to filter certain packages in code complete/add imports
Product: [Eclipse Project] JDT Reporter: Sam <scheung>
Component: CoreAssignee: Philipe Mulet <philippe_mulet>
Status: RESOLVED DUPLICATE QA Contact:
Severity: enhancement    
Priority: P3    
Version: 1.0   
Target Milestone: 2.1 M4   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Whiteboard:

Description Sam CLA 2002-09-08 02:15:30 EDT
I suugest to add a feature in eclipse so that user can configure eclipse to
filter out certain packages when it code completes/organizes imports?

For example,
I type this in my code
InputStream is = new InputStream();
and then I do "Organize Imports",

The following selections will pop up
"java.io.InputStream"
"org.omg.CORBA.portable.InputStream"
"org.omg.CORBA_2_3.portable.InputStream"

can I config eclipse so that it does not pop up classes in the Corba package
since I am not doing CORBA programming.
Comment 1 Philipe Mulet CLA 2002-09-09 04:44:00 EDT
Seems like a quite generic need. Can't you simply exclude it from your build 
path ? 
Comment 2 Sam CLA 2002-09-09 13:20:20 EDT
there are cases where I can't exclue it from my build path. For example, there
are clases in jdk with the same name.

For example, if I am not doing swing or corba programming and i try "List" 
a lot of classes from swing/corba packages popup. But what i really need is
java.util.List.
Comment 3 Philipe Mulet CLA 2002-10-15 11:56:32 EDT
If you had ways to specify filters on your classpath, then this could do the 
trick, wouldn't it ? You could filter out certain portions of the JDK.

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 24127 ***