Bug 100624

Summary: Cancel of feature install via update manager ends in infinite loop
Product: [Eclipse Project] Platform Reporter: Powell Quiring <pquiring>
Component: Update (deprecated - use Eclipse>Equinox>p2)Assignee: Dejan Glozic <dejan>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED QA Contact:
Severity: major    
Priority: P1    
Version: 3.1   
Target Milestone: 3.1 RC3   
Hardware: PC   
OS: Windows XP   
Whiteboard:
Attachments:
Description Flags
Fix to removing sites none

Description Powell Quiring CLA 2005-06-17 13:19:00 EDT
Unzip a new copy of eclipse-SDK-3.1RC2-win32.zip
Use the ibm 1.4.2 jre
eclipse\eclipse.exe -configuration C:\temp\bug\powell\configuration -data
powell/ws/ws -showlocation -vmargs –Xj
Help/Software updates/find/install, Search for new features to install
new local site – browse to a directory with a site.xml
create a new extension site for the feature specifying an empty directory.  I
used C:\temp\bug\powell\ecilpseExtensionSite01
Cancel – processor pegged

The bug is in org.eclipse.update.internal.ui.wizards.TargetPage.
removeAddedSites:  As you can see the “added” static is never changed so
added.isEmpty() never returns true.

    void removeAddedSites() {
        if (added != null) {
            while (!added.isEmpty()) {
                Iterator it = added.iterator(); 
                if (it.hasNext())
                    config.removeConfiguredSite((IConfiguredSite) it.next());
            }
        }           
    }
Comment 1 Dorian Birsan CLA 2005-06-17 14:46:54 EDT
This looks like a regression introduced when fixing bug 80574. I will attach a 
patch shortly.
Comment 2 Dorian Birsan CLA 2005-06-17 14:49:00 EDT
Created attachment 23466 [details]
Fix to removing sites

The added sites were no longer cleaned by the configurator listener, so now the
added sites collection must be reset after removing the sites from the
configuration.
Comment 3 Dejan Glozic CLA 2005-06-17 14:49:35 EDT
There is time for RC3.
Comment 4 Dejan Glozic CLA 2005-06-17 14:57:45 EDT
Released into RC3
Comment 5 Joanne Woo CLA 2005-12-01 19:21:41 EST
I have Eclipse 3.1.0 with the attached patch applied but I'm still seeing this bug in Eclipse 3.1.0.
Comment 6 Joanne Woo CLA 2005-12-02 13:28:17 EST
Hi Dejan, I'm also seeing this bug in Eclipse 3.1.1.